Congratulations to SCA's junior Nick Willis


Nick Willis of Spartanburg, SC has been named the recipient of the David Parrott Award for 2015 by the Carolinas Golf Association. Willis, the 2015 SC Junior Match Play Champion, was selected from the eight members that represented the Carolinas Golf Association in the Carolinas-Virginias Junior Team Matches at Boonsboro CC in Lynchburg, VA this past August.

Willis, A high school junior at Spartanburg Christian Academy, carries a GPA of 4.354 and is ranked 11th in his class. “Nick is an outstanding young man. He has proven to be a model young man in the time he spends at the club” stated CC of Spartanburg head golf professional Tom McAllister. “I wish we had more like him” added McAllister.

The David Parrott award is given annually to the Carolinas Team player who displays excellence in sportsmanship, ability, and academic excellence. The award is presented by Dr. Larry and Joy Parrott of Camden, SC in honor of their son David. David Parrot was diagnosed with leukemia in the spring of 1982 and during his brief illness; he participated in the golf camp at Duke University and competed in the SCGA South Carolina Junior Championship, finishing third in his flight. He was given the Derek Davis sportsmanship award at the championship for his effort, determination and inspiration he gave to all who knew him. David died July 29, 1982 at the age of 16.

Willis joins a prestigious of past Parrott award winners that include Tee Burton, Jonathan Byrd, Dustin Bray, Austin Reeves, Ben Kohles, Andy Know and 2014 recipient Henry Shimp. Willis will be presented the Parrott Award on Friday, February 19th at CC of Charleston during the Carolinas Golf Association’s Golf Night and Annual Meeting.

Past winners:

1986  Tee Burton 

1987  Lance Reid 

1988  Jason Widener 

1989  Mike Byce 

1990  Robert Dean 

1991  Brian Brown 

1992  Scott Newton 

1993  Paul Dickens 

1994  Paul Daniel 

1995  Jonathan Byrd 

1996  Chad Webb 

1997  Michael Maness 

1998  Michael Sims 

1999  Dustin Bray 

2000  Charles Chapman 

2001 Rodney Thomas 

2002 Sean Moore 

2003 Barden Berry 

2004 Justin Hare 

2005 Drew Ernst 

2006 Jacob Burger 

2007 Austin Reeves 

2008 Ben Kohles 

2009 Parker Allen 

2010 Andy Knox 

2011 Will Starke 

2012 Carter Jenkins 

2013 Austin Inman 

2014 Henry Shimp 

2015 Nick Willis